I’m grown! Now pass me my Mickey Ears.

Standard

I’m an adult but yes, I LIKE going to the parks and seeing characters and riding rides. One of my favorite things to do is grab a cocktail and watch fireworks. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with that. As my friend Leah points out, “Disney is an expensive habit, and now that we’re adults we can finally afford it”.

 

My favorite part about going to EPCOT is drinking my way around the world – a margarita in Mexico, schnaps oolong tea frozen thingy, Sam Adams in America, sparking wine in Italy, plum wine in Japan, and a frozen Grand Marnier slushie thingy in France. And let us not forget – Stella!!! in the UK. That kind of bender requires some serious focus, time and, oh yeah, an age 21+ driver’s license.

 

There is a LOT to do at Disney besides ride the spinning teacups, which is a blessing because those things make me nauseous. Especially after you first make a stop at the Contemporary for happy hour. I think it’s a bit offensive when people suggest that I or my friends are childish or silly for indulging in some mouse fun. We’re all adults that have full-time jobs, responsibilities and social lives that do not revolve around wait times to meet a larger than life -sized fluffy white duck.

 

So this quote by article author Stein both slayed and annoying me: “Let’s not pump Justin Bieber in our Saabs and get engaged at Cinderella’s Castle at Disneyland. Because it’s embarrassing. You can’t take an adult seriously when he’s debating you over why Twilight vampires are O.K. with sunlight.”You can read the article here: http://www.nytimes.com/roomfordebate/2012/03/28/the-power-of-young-adult-fiction/adults-should-read-adult-books

 

This seems a bit harsh, somewhat rude, and definitely a pretty desperately sad way to look at adulthood. Why knock other people’s dreams? Why take the joy out of being an adult?? Let’s have a fist pump in the air for keeping our childish enthusiasm whilst still paying our cell phone bills on time!! Straight up, Justin Bieber’s music makes my ears bleed, but I don’t judge those that like to listen to it as being childish… I just de-friend them on Facebook. 🙂 And some people view getting engaged at Cinderella’s Castle as symbolic of a fairytale romance; something you dream about as a kid. I’m not saying it’s for everybody, but it’s kinda sweet that some people can bring bits of fantasy into the real world without being stalker-y crazy bat-shit nuts. And hell, we all know that the writing in the Twilight books suck but it’s a guilty pleasure, like reading National Enquirer on vacation, or crop dust – farting while walking down the sidewalk. Let people have their “stuff”!

 

And by the way, I’m gonna post a blog really soon detailing how my boyfriend proposed at EPCOT during the fireworks. :p …and detail our plans to get married during a Disney Cruise 🙂 …hehehe! Don’t judge! None of that ish is cheap.

 

And by the way Joel Stein? Cinderella’s Castle is in the WALT DISNEY WORLD RESORT, not Disneyland. Asshat.

Leave a Reply

