I got a letter today

Standard

I got an unexpected letter at work today. It was from my mentoree from this past school year. It really brightened my day J

The letter reads:

“Dear Ms. Renee,

I really miss you. How are you doing. I am fine. Are you going to be my mentor (sp?) next year.

I hope you are. I wonder if you are sick. I am not.

I remember when we first met. I love you!

Love,

Brianna

************

I’ve had some doubts as to whether to mentor again next school year… wasn’t sure if I had the stamina to do it… it’s so hard when you see kids being forced to struggle, and there’s not a whole lot you can do but be there for them, and just… SHOW UP. So that’s what I did, week after week. There were days when it was harder than others. I wasn’t sure if my heart could take another year. I’ve been waiting on the answer, and I think I just got one.

Amen.

One response »

Leave a Reply

